What is honky tonk?

Honky Tonk is an upright piano where each of the strings is distinctly off tune creating an impression of an old western movie instrument. Some of the old pianos with an old, dried out pin block would get out of tune themselves even after tuning, those pianos would also be referred to as honky tonk.