What is sodium hydroxide used for?

Sodium hydroxide is used to produce soaps, rayon, paper, products that explode, dyes, and petroleum products. It can also be used in tasks such as processing cotton fabric, metal cleaning and processing, oxide coating, electroplating, and electrolytic extraction.