How big was the san francisco earthquake in nineteen oh six?

The April 18, 1906 earthquake struck the coast of Northern California with an estimated magnitude of 7.9. Devastating fires soon broke out & lasted for several days. More than 3,000 people died. Over 80% of the city of San Francisco was destroyed.