What is the menstrual cycle?

The menstrual cycle is the monthly cycle that occurs to a women of child bearing years. The body, specifically the womb, will void stored blood on a 28 day cycle if it does not contain a fertilized embryo. This cycle begins at puberty and ends at or shortly after the onset of menopause.