What does the word savant mean?

1 : a person of learning; especially : one with detailed knowledge in some specialized field (as of science or literature) 2 : a person affected with a mental disability who exhibits exceptional skill or brilliance in some limited field (such as mathematics or music); especially : autistic savant.