How do you get a star named after you?

When you talk about "buying stars" or "naming stars" for yourself or a friend, you are most likely referring to the claims of one of the commercial companies who promise to do this for you for money (around 50 US dollars). You can do this, but it is not official.

---

First you must know of an emerging star that will be born after you, then after you have made your transition, someone in the distant future, after the star is born, can name it. Or you can go to star-registration.com and name a star,"After You".