What is a. r. stand for?

A.R. may be used to represent Augmented Reality, technology that enhances or places imagery over the real world visuals around you. You would typically use a mobile device or perhaps specialized glasses. Some mobile apps include Froggipedia and Pokemon Go. Microsoft's Hololens is a premium example.