What does it mean when you have fluid around your heart?

Pericardial effusion is the medical term for fluid buildup in the space around the heart. More specifically, the fluid appears between the membrane sac lining that surrounds the heart, the pericardium, and the heart itself. This condition can come on quickly, sometimes in less than a week.