When did the three point shot start in the n. b. a.?

Initially on a one-year trial basis, the 3-point line was adopted by the NBA for the 1979-80 season. However, the American Basketball League (ABL) was the first to use it, but since it shut down by 1963, the American Basketball Association (ABA) is credited with popularizing the 3-point line.