What is a pillager raid?

Raids are events which pillagers, vindicators, ravagers and evokers (which can summon vexes) invade a village to kill as many villagers as possible (witches also spawn but they are passive to villagers, they also attack iron golems and the player and heal other villagers with beneficial potions).