What happens when you inhale?

When you breathe in, or inhale, your diaphragm contracts and moves downward. This increases the space in your chest cavity, and your lungs expand into it. ... As your lungs expand, air is sucked in through your nose or mouth. The air travels down your windpipe and into your lungs.