What's the nutritional value of turmeric?

A tablespoon of ground turmeric has 29 calories, nearly a gram of protein, 2 grams of fiber and 6 grams of carbohydrates. It contains minerals such as manganese, phosphorus and potassium. Curcumin, a substance in turmeric, is being researched for cancer prevention and treatment.