Where do you fruit flies come from?

Sometimes, fruit flies hitch a ride into your home on fruits or vegetables. The bananas you brought home from the grocery store may already harbor a new generation of fruit flies. All unrefrigerated fruit, whether it's on display at the grocery store, may attract fruit flies.