Why are giraffes tongues purple?

Because they eat so much vegetation, their tongues are out and exposed to the sun a large portion of the time. Since their tongues are approximately 18 to 21 inches in length, there is a lot of exposed space that could get sun burnt. The darker color is a result of the extra melanin that is present.