How do you know if a grasshopper is a girl or a boy?

Here's how you can tell if your grasshopper is a girl or a boy. Look at your grasshopper's belly. If the abdomen is tapered or tube shaped it's a girl. Boys have a more rounded abdomen that turns upward. Be sure to hold it gently!