What does it mean when you don't get a fortune in your fortune cookie?

Nothing more than the machine malfunctioned & failed to place the paper slip inside the cookie before it was folded. But to make you feel better about not getting a fortune, here’s one just for you: a slip of paper in a cookie will never be able to help you more than I can, & your lucky number is 42