What's a purple banana?

They're a hybrid of two species of banana native to Southeast Asia — Musa balbisiana and Musa acuminata. Before they're fully ripe, they have an unusual blue-tinged peel due to their natural wax coating. They also are eaten by a purple monkey named barney