Where did doughnuts originate?

While the first printed recipe is from 1803, according to the Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink, doughnuts are "deep-fried cakes with a long European history and roots still earlier in Middle Eastern Cuisine." They reportedly originated in Rome or Greece, in approximately the 13th century.