Are bears related to dogs?

The truth is that both animals are relatively closely related. Dogs and bears are both within the suborder Caniformia, literally meaning dog-like carnivorans. This taxonomical classification includes dogs, bears, wolves, foxes, raccoons, and mustelids. But there the similarity ends.