Why do dogs chew so much?

It's normal for puppies and dogs to chew on objects as they explore the world. For young dogs, it's a way to relieve pain from the onset of teething. For older dogs, it's nature's way of keeping jaws strong and teeth clean. Chewing also combats boredom and can relieve mild anxiety or frustration.