What is indian corn?

Flint corn, also known as Indian corn or sometimes calico corn, is a variant of maize, the same species as common corn. Because each kernel has a hard outer layer to protect the soft endosperm, it is likened to being hard as flint; hence the name. Indian corn isn't sweet.