Why does frankenstein hate fire?

Yes. The monster Doctor Frankenstein creates is terrified of fire

---

Frankenstein seeks relief from the cold, the creature comes across a fire and is attracted to it by its appearance and warmth. Not knowing any better, he touches the fire and burns his hand. The experience leaves him feeling deceived and distrustful of fire.