How much should you feed a forty pound dog?

Different brands of dog food have different feeding recommendations. For a 40 pound dog, some brands may advise 2 cups a day while other brands may suggest 4 to 5 cups. It's best to follow the directions on the packaging or, if in doubt, check with your veterinarian.