How do you find diamonds in subnautica?

Many of the biomes on the Subnautica map have diamonds, but the best place to find them is the Mountain Island. You can reach the Mountain Island at any point in your playthrough, though you'll eventually get there as part of the critical path. It is located north, north-east of Lifepod 5