What is the difference between tomato sauce and tomato paste?

Tomato paste is made by cooking tomatoes for several hours to reduce the water content, resulting in a thick, intense paste. Tomato sauce has a thinner consistency and contains extra ingredients, such as onions, herbs, and spices. Tomato sauce is often used as-is in dishes like spaghetti or lasagna.