What is a jacobite?

a supporter of the deposed James II and his descendants in their claim to the British throne after the Revolution of 1688. Most of their support from Catholic clans of the Scottish Highlands, They made attempts to regain the throne in 1689–90, 1715, 1719, and 1745–6, defeated at Battle of Culloden.