Why does britain want to leave the e. u.?

The biggest single reason for wanting to leave the European Union was the principle that decisions about the UK should be taken by the UK. There was a sense that EU membership took decision making further away from the people. Voters wanted to end or reverse the process of EU influence in the UK.