What is the enchantment aqua infinity do?

In Minecraft, Aqua Affinity is a helmet enchantment that increases underwater mining speed. Usually when the player's head is underwater, mining blocks takes 5 times as long as mining while out of water. Wearing armor with Aqua Affinity makes this this penalty ignored, at all levels.