Who is princess charlotte named after?

Charlotte, the feminine form of Charles, appears to be a nod to the newborn's grandfather, Prince Charles. The baby's middle names honor Queen Elizabeth II, the infant's 89-year-old great-grandmother, and the late Princess Diana, William's mother and the baby's grandmother.

---

Her full name is Princess Charlotte Elizabeth Diana. Her middle names are nods to her great-grandmother, Queen Elizabeth II, and the late Princess Diana, who is her paternal grandmother. As for her first name, that is the feminine version of her grandfather Prince Charles’ name.