What was the first battleship ever made?

There have been many ships equipped with cannons to be used in battle, these were similar to transport ships. The first ship that is considered a "Battleship" is the USS Constitution as it was clad in steel plate for protection and designed specifically for battle. Her nickname was "Old Ironsides"