What goes into barbecue sauce?

Depending on the region or style, BBQ sauce can vary. However the basics are: Tomato paste or ketchup, sweetener (sugar, brown sugar, molasses or honey), and an acid (typically vinegar). Basic flavour include: Salt, Pepper, liquid smoke, cayenne or Chili flakes, mustard and much more!