Is donkey kong a villain?

Donkey Kong, also known as Donkey Kong Sr., is the titular main antagonist of the Donkey Kong arcade games, serving as the titular main antagonist of Donkey Kong and Donkey Kong 3, and the deuteragonist of Donkey Kong Jr. He later appears as Cranky Kong in the Donkey Kong franchise.