Where do earth worms come from?

After earthworms mate, their fertilized eggs are held in a protective cocoon. The baby worms (hatchlings) emerge and burrow into the soil. They are often called night crawlers in the United States. They are indigenous to Europe, but are now abundant in North America and western Asia.