Who invented birthdays?

The Greeks most likely took the idea of birthday celebration from the Egyptians, since just like the celebration of the pharaohs as “gods,” the Greeks were celebrating their gods and goddesses. 3. Ancient Romans were the first to celebrate birthdays for the common man (but just the men).