What's the difference between regular flour and bread flour?

The main difference between bread flour and all-purpose flour is a matter of protein. Bread flour, which comes in white and whole wheat varieties, has a higher protein content than all-purpose. It's called “bread flour” because most bread requires higher amounts of protein to produce lots of gluten