Do you prune orchids?

If your orchid has flowered and the flowers and stem have turned brown the orchid stem is ready to trim at the level the stem turns green again. Roots that are soft and brown rather than a waxy light green should also be cut off. Don’t forget to sterilize your pruning shears with alcohol.