What is a sylvia?

Sylvia is a feminine given name of Latin origin, also spelled Silvia. The French form is Sylvie. The name originates from the Latin word for forest Silva and its meaning is spirit of the wood . The mythological god of the forest was associated with the figure of Silvanus. Sylvia (Wife Of Sacha)