Why does the pencil stink?

Because it was a #2. Ha,ha - joke!

---

The smell comes from the graphite particles that are released into the air when the pencil lead is used. The graphite used in pencils is a naturally occurring mineral and does not produce a strong odor. If the pencil is producing an unpleasant odor, it may be due to contamination from other sources