What's the black diamond on the measuring tape for?

Starting at the 19.2-inch mark, the black diamond helps you find the center of the first stud. The next black diamond is 19.2 inches away from the first stud (38.4 inches from the beginning of the tape measure), and the diamonds go all the way to the 96-inch mark, or 8 feet.Jan. 16, 2017