When was the first baseball card ever made?

Three cards from the Old Judge N167 set. The early tobacco cards varied in design and format, with the typical size measuring roughly 2 and five eights″ by 1 and one half″. In 1886, Goodwin Tobacco created what has become known as the first official baseball card set