What is cast aluminum?

Cast aluminum is when aluminum is heated to extremely high temperatures and then the molten liquid is poured into a mould and cooled. Once the casting process is complete the aluminum castings quickly form an exterior layer of aluminum oxide that helps protect against corrosion.