What's the difference between a carrot and a parsnip?

Carrot can be orange, red, yellow, white or purple colored, while parsnip is always creamy colored. Carrot is usually long and conically-shaped, but it can be also cylindrical or round in shape. Parsnip has elongated, cylindrical taproot. Some varieties of parsnip have bulbous taproot.