Is sputnik still in space?

The sputnik satellite orbited the earth for three weeks and fell back into the atmosphere on January 4th 1958

---

Sputnik, the first artificial satellite to be launched into space, is no longer in orbit around the Earth. The satellite was launched in 1957, and its mission was to study the Earth's atmosphere. Sputnik orbited the Earth for 3 months before it burned up upon re-entry into the Earth's atmosphere.