When did nine one one come into effect?

911's 1st call was in Hayleyville, AL on Feb 16, 1968 by Speaker of the House Rankin Fite. In 1957 the National Association of Fire Chiefs recommended one single number for fire reports, In 1967, President Johnson's Commission on LEAJ expanded. By December the FCC met with AT&T to go nationwide