How long did the stars virus last?

I assume you mean the SARS virus? It was eradicated by removing any human to human transmission. In fact, that is the same way the Ebola virus is eliminated when it crops up in Africa. By removing people and quarantining them, you eliminate a "host" on which the virus can live.