How do birds stay warm in the cold weather?

A bird's body heat warms the air between its feathers, So birds fluff up in the cold to trap as much air in their feathers as possible. The more trapped air, the warmer the bird. One way birds keep their legs and feet warm is to stand on one leg, while the other is tucked up warmly in its feathers.