How did elon musk become rich?

Musk had plowed his millions into starting another online banking startup called X.com. The two companies would merge in March 2000, forming a business that eventually became PayPal. ... When eBay bought PayPal for $1.5 billion in 2002, Musk netted a $180 million mega-fortune from the deal.