How do you defrost a whole chicken?

The USDA suggests you always thaw frozen chicken in the refrigerator, microwave, or sealed bag submerged in cold water. Chicken should always be cooked immediately after thawing. Bacteria is more likely to grow on raw meat that's between 40˚F (4˚C) and 140˚F (60˚ C).