What does an adverb describe?

According to Oxford Language dictionary, an adverb is a word or phrase that modifies or qualifies an adjective, verb, or other adverb or a word group, expressing a relation of place, time, circumstance, manner, cause, degree, etc. Examples include gently, quite, then, and there.