Do mice actually like cheese?

Mice prefer to eat grains, vegetables, and sweet foods over cheese and other dairy products. The misconception that mice like cheese may have arisen because centuries ago, many types of cheese were stored in cellars, making the cheese more accessible to mice than other types of stored food.